TOPEKA – (February 21, 2019) – A California company has been ordered to pay $10,000 in penalties and fees for violating the No-Call Act, Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt said today.
CarGuardian Warranty, of Santa Ana, California, agreed to a consent judgment ordering it to pay $10,000 in fees and civil penalties. The judgment was approved last week by Judge Richard Anderson in Shawnee County District Court. In addition, CarGuardian Warranty was enjoined from further violations of the Kansas No-Call Act and the Kansas Consumer Protection Act.
“We continue to vigorously pursue violations of the Kansas No-Call Act in those cases when we can actually find the telemarketer that broke the law,” Schmidt said. “Kansans who have signed up for the Do-Not-Call list have an expectation that their privacy be respected. We will enforce the law against those telemarketers who violate it.”
The Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division began investigating CarGuardian Warranty after receiving complaints from Kansas consumers about receiving unsolicited telemarketing calls. The complaints alleged that employees or contractors of CarGuardian Warranty were calling Kansas consumers on the Do Not Call registry.
A copy of the consent judgment is available at https://bit.ly/2Ivyry3.
Kansans who wish to register for the national Do-Not-Call list, or to report an alleged violation of the No-Call Act, should visit the Attorney General’s website at www.InYourCornerKansas.org