Out-of-State License Recognition

Recognition of Non-Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun Licenses

Effective July 1, 2021: Per statutory amendments made to K.S.A. 21-6302 and 75-7c03, a valid license or permit to carry a concealed firearm that was issued by another jurisdiction shall be recognized in Kansas, but only while the holder is not a Kansas resident.


Pre-July 1, 2013:  According to 75-7c03 in effect at this time, the OAG could recognize a CCH issued by another “jurisdiction” (another State or the District of Columbia) IF the licensing criteria for that CCH was “equal to or greater than the standards imposed” by the PFPA.

July 1, 2013 – June 30, 2015:  By legislative mandate during this period of the PFPA, Kansas began recognizing virtually all “valid” CCH that had been issued by another jurisdiction.  There was no longer an “equal to or greater than” standard imposed in order to be recognized.

Under either of these pre-July 1, 2015 recognition standards, the holder of the recognized, non-Kansas CCH could not be a Kansas resident. Put another way, a Kansas resident could only carry a concealed handgun in Kansas under the authority of a Kansas CCH.  

States That Recognize Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun Licenses (CCHL)

The following states have previously acknowledged that they recognize the Kansas CCHL. Here are the States who, at last check, honor the Kansas CCHL:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Delaware
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

IMPORTANT:  States not included above, by default, will not currently recognize the Kansas CCHL. 

IMPORTANT: The OAG will certainly attempt to keep the above list current.  HOWEVER, it is ultimately the CCHL licensee, Kansan or otherwise, who is responsible for making sure their method and/or possession of a firearm in a particular jurisdiction is lawful

IMPORTANT:  Because firearms laws differ between States, it is possible that someone who is lawful to possess firearms in Kansas may not be lawful to possess firearms in another jurisdiction.  As an example, some jurisdictions may not allow ANY convicted felon to possess firearms whereas, under Kansas law, certain felons have their firearm rights restored after a period of time – even if that offense is never expunged. See, KSA 21-6304.

The reverse is just as true where a visitor to Kansas may have a history that is no longer a violation of law in their home state but, under Kansas law, that act still carries a firearm prohibition here. 

IMPORTANTDO NOT assume that another jurisdiction will allow unlicensed concealed carry in their jurisdiction simply because Kansas now has unlicensed concealed carry. In most of the jurisdictions listed above, a CCHL is still required in order to lawfully concealed carry in that jurisdiction. Again, one must follow the laws of the jurisdiction where the person currently is; Kansas law will not follow a Kansan everywhere they go.

Concealed Carry