In 2006 the Kansas Legislature passed the Personal and Family Protection Act. Since July 2006, more than 129,000 Kansans have applied for concealed carry licenses. The first licenses were issued on January 3, 2007.
The Office of the Attorney General offers the following information to help Kansans and visitors better follow the Kansas concealed carry law. If you have additional questions, call the Concealed Carry Licensing Unit at (785) 291-3765 or click here to send us an email.
Effective July 1, 2022, the application fee provided by law is $100 payable to the Office of the Attorney General, and $32.50 payable to the Sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence.
The minimum age to apply for a concealed carry handgun license has been lowered to 18 years of age.
Kansas Attorney General
Concealed Carry Licensing Unit
120 SW 10th Ave, 2nd Fl.
Topeka, KS 66612-1597
Send us an email.