Concealed Carry

Recognized Non-Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun Licenses

Beginning July 1, 2013, the State of Kansas will recognize all “valid” concealed carry licenses (or permits, cards, etc.) that are issued by another State or the District of Columbia.  HOWEVER, there are two important caveats to that general rule:  (1) this recognition only extends to individuals who are not residents of Kansas.  If you are passing through Kansas to another state, or staying in Kansas temporarily for business or pleasure – a valid CCH license from another jurisdiction will be honored beginning July 1, 2013; and (2) this recognition will only allow the license holder to carry a concealed handgun.  Any other defensive weapons carried by the non-Kansas license holder must, as with all Kansas residents, be carried in accordance with Kansas law while they are within Kansas’ borders.

If you are a new resident to Kansas – on or after July 1, 2010 – and possess a valid CCH license from another jurisdiction, you may apply for the Kansas CCH and obtain a 180-day receipt from the Attorney General’s office which will allow you to continue carrying with your non-Kansas CCH to continue carrying concealed while your Kansas CCH application is pending.  Persons moving to Kansas may be allowed to bypass the state’s required handgun safety and training class if the training they received in another jurisdiction was equal to or greater than the Kansas training requirements.  At a minimum, this training must include handgun safety, actual firing of handguns, and a review of laws governing the carrying of concealed handguns and the use of deadly force.  A person applying for the Kansas license must provide a copy of their training certificate and proof that the training included the minimum requirements for recognition.  The 180 day receipt will indicate whether or not the person is required to complete the Kansas training class.

States That Recognize Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun Licenses

DO NOT assume that states recognized by Kansas will automatically recognize a Kansas CCH license. The following states have acknowledged that they do recognize the Kansas concealed carry license. While the Attorney General's Office will attempt to keep this list current, Kansas concealed carry licensees are cautioned to check with the licensing authority in each state before traveling. Licensees are responsible for knowing and complying with the laws regulating concealed carry in these states.

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas
Colorado Florida Georgia Idaho
Indiana Iowa Kentucky Louisiana
Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri
Montana Nebraska Nevada New Mexico
North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma
Pennsylvania South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee
Texas Utah Vermont Virginia
Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

States that Do Not Recognize Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun Licenses

California Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia
Hawaii Illinois Maine Maryland
Massachusetts New Hampshire New Jersey New York
Oregon Rhode Island