
Kansas 
Concealed Carry 

Licensing

Concealed Carry Signage

Concealed handguns may be prohibited on 
certain properties by placing appropriate 
signage in a visible location at the entry of the 
premises. 

For complete 
signage details, and 
to download the 
appropriate graphic, 
visit the Concealed 
Carry page at  
www.ag.ks.gov.

Overview

The Personal and Family Protection Act 
permits, as of July 1, 2021, the licensing of 
lawful individuals who are at least 18 years of 
age to carry concealed handguns in Kansas. 
Licensing with the Attorney General began in 
July 2006. Licensure has the benefit of 
providing certain protections for the holder, 
such as being able to carry concealed 
handguns in 39 other states, most of which 
require a license in order to do so. Please 
consult with private legal counsel about your 
ability to lawfully possess firearms or the 
unlicensed carry of firearms (concealed or 
open) in Kansas or other states. The Attorney 
General’s office cannot provide individual, 
private legal advice.
For more information, consult:
Kansas Statutes Annotated 75-7c01 et seq. 
Kansas Administrative Regulations 16-11-1 thru 16-11-8

Applicant Requirements

Concealed carry license applicants must be:
• 18 years of age;
• A citizen of the United States, a permanent

resident alien, or an eligible non-immigrant
alien;

• A resident of the State of Kansas with a
valid driver's license or state-issued ID
card, or residing in Kansas while serving on
active duty in the military; and

• A resident of the county where applying.
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Contact Us

Email inquiries may be sent to 
ksagcc@ag.ks.gov.  This email account is 
monitored by the Concealed Carry Licensing 
Unit staff. Responses are generally returned 
within 1-2 business days.

The unit may also be contacted by phone at 
(785) 291-3765 during regular business
hours. Messages may be left anytime. Faxes
may be sent to (785) 368-6468.

KANSAS ATTORNEY GENERAL
Kris W. KobachConcealed Carry Licensing Unit

120 SW 10th Ave., 2nd Floor
Topeka, KS 66612

(785) 291-3765

www.ag.ks.gov
www.ag.ks.gov



Application Procedure

Must complete an 8-hour weapons 
safety and training course and 
obtain a certificate of completion 
from a certified trainer.  Exceptions 
include certain law enforcement and 
Kansas residents with valid training 
from other jurisdictions.

Submit check (personal, cashier’s 
or money order) made payable to 
the county sheriff for $32.50.

Fill out the application form, and 
attach a 2” x 2” passport-style 
photograph and copy of a driver's 
license or state-issued ID card.

Personally submit the completed 
application with photo, training 
certificate and payment to the 
sheriff in their county of residence.

The county sheriff will collect the 
fee, fingerprint the applicant, have 
the applicant sign a record check 
waiver and forward the entire 
packet to the Attorney General’s 
Office for processing.

Processing the application and 
issuing license approval notice can 
take up to 90 days, by law.
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Getting Started

Visit the Attorney General’s website at 
www.ag.ks.gov to learn more about 
the Personal and Family Protection 
Act, read or download the statutes and 
regulations, view Frequently Asked 
Questions, access a directory of 
certified trainers, and download and 
print an application form.

www.ag.ks.gov

Applicant Disqualifying Factors

• Fugitives from justice. Defined as anyone 
who has fled a state to avoid prosecution or 
duties as a testimonial witness. 

• Persons convicted of a “crime punishable by
imprisonment for a term exceeding one
year.” See application for definitions.

• Persons under charge for a "crime
punishable by imprisonment for a term
exceeding one year." See application for
definitions.

• Persons convicted in any court of
a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
See application for definitions.

• Persons subject to a court order restraining
the person from harassing, stalking, or
threatening an intimate partner or child of
an intimate partner. See application for
definitions.

• Persons discharged from the armed forces
under dishonorable conditions.

• Persons arrested for, convicted of, addicted
to, or unlawfully using controlled
substances, including marijuana or any
other depressant, stimulant or narcotic
drugs. Applicants with recent history of
controlled substance convictions, arrests,
offenses, positive tests, etc., are strongly
encouraged to contact private legal counsel
to determine their ability to possess firearms
under state or federal law.

• Persons adjudicated mental defective or
involuntarily committed to a mental
institution. See application for definitions.

• Persons illegally, unlawfully, or
temporarily residing in the United States.

• Expungement may not reinstate firearms
rights for some convictions.

• See K.S.A. 75-7c01 et. seq. and K.A.R.
16-11-1 to 16-11-8 for more information.

The following persons may be disqualified by law from being issued a concealed carry license:




