State Fire Marshal phone: 785-296-3401
700 SW Jackson, Suite 600 fax: 785-296-0151

Terry L. Maple, Acting State Fire Marshal Sam Brownback, Governor

February 27, 2012

Re: Fire Standards Compliance Requirements for Roll-Your-Own (“RYQ”) Cigarette Machines.
To whom it may concern:

This notice is to advise that if you or your business currently possesses, leases, or plans to
possess or lease a roll-your-own (“RYQ”) cigarette machine for consumer use, you or your
business must be in compliance with the Kansas Fire Safety Standard and Firefighter Protection
Act, K.S.A. 31-601 et seq. An RYO cigarette machine is a device that allows customers to
purchase loose tobacco and cigarette paper or cigarette paper tubes and then use the RYO
cigarette machine at that retail establishment to make cigarettes for personal use.

For the purposes of the Fire Safety Act, a person or business who possesses or leases an
RYO vending machine for the purpose of selling tobacco products to consumers is a cigarette
manufacturer. A cigarette “manufacturer” as “[a]ny entity which manufactures or otherwise
produces cigarettes or causes cigarettes to be manufactured or produced anywhere that such
manufacturer intends to be sold in [Kansas].” K.S.A. 31-602(d)(1). A “cigarette” is defined as
“any roll for smoking, whether made wholly or in part of tobacco or any other substance,
irrespective of size or shape, and irrespective of tobacco or substance being flavored, adulterated
or mixed with any other ingredient, if the wrapper is in greater part made of any material except
tobacco.” K.S.A. 31-602(b).

Certification forms and instruction for the compliance process are available at
www.ksag.org/tobacco or may be requested through the Kansas Fire Marshal’s Office. Among
other things, if you or your business owns or leases one of these machines, to become Fire
Standards Compliant, you or your business must:

1. Have these cigarettes tested in accordance with the ASTM testing methods as
described in K.S.A 31-603. Records of this testing must be kept by you or your
business and copies made available to the Attorney General or Fire Marshal
within 60 days upon written request. Failure to do so shall result in a fine of up to
$10,000 for each day a manufacturer is in violation. See K.S.A. 31-603(e).
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2. Certify each cigarette brand variety with the Fire Marshal’s Office and have each
cigarette brand variety listed on the Attorney General’s directory as described in
K.S.A. 31-604. The certification fee is $250 per cigarette brand variety listed.

Additional fines for not complying with this Act range from $500 per cigarette pack per day to
$250,000 for filing a false certification. See K.S.A. 31-606.

Pursuant to K.S.A. 31-608 the Kansas Department of Revenue or Kansas Fire Marshal
will be inspecting wholesale, distribution, and retail establishments within the next 30 days for
compliance. Should you have any question, please contact the Kansas Attorney General’s
Tobacco Enforcement Unit, the Kansas State Fire Marshal’s Office, or the Kansas Department of
Revenue’s Division of Alcohol Beverage Control.

Sincerely,

OFFICE OF THE KANSAS STATE FIRE MARSHAL
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Terry L. aple
Acting State Fire Marshal

KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
ALCOHOL BEVERAGE CONTROL DIVISION
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Doug Jorgenser/ Director
Alcoholic Beverage Control
Kansas Department of Revenue

OFFICE OF THE KANSAS ATTORNEY GENERAL
DEREK SCHMIDT
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Patrick Broxterman, Director
Tobacco Enforcement Unit
Assistant Attorney General
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