VINE is an automated service that lets you track the custody status of offenders in county jails over the phone or internet. You can also register to be notified by phone, text, email and/or TTY if the custody status of an offender changes.

Write down the following information, tear off this panel, and keep in a safe place:

Offender name

Offender date of birth

### Your four-digit PIN

- If you do not answer a notification call, VINE will leave a message and will continue calling back until you enter your PIN or until up to 24 hours have passed. You may get a call from VINE in the middle of the night.
- Do not register a phone number that rings to a switchboard.
- VINE is confidential.
- You can register multiple phone numbers and email addresses for notifications.
- If you forget your PIN, call the toll-free number (1-866-574-8463) and press zero for a VINE service representative.
- VINE service representatives are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week to assist you.







Search for "VINELink" from your mobile device app store.

# Kansas Victims' Bill of Rights

- Victims should be treated with courtesy, compassion and with respect for their dignity and privacy and should suffer the minimum of necessary inconvenience from their involvement with the criminal justice system.
- 2. Victims should receive, through formal and informal procedures, prompt and fair redress for the harm which they have suffered.
- Information regarding the availability of criminal restitution, recovery of damages in a civil cause of action, the crime victims compensation fund and other remedies and the mechanisms to obtain such remedies should be made available to victims.
- 4. Information should be made available to victims about their participation in criminal proceedings and the scheduling, progress and ultimate disposition of the proceedings.
- 5. The views and concerns of victims should be ascertained and the appropriate assistance provided throughout the criminal process.
- When the personal interests of victims are affected, the views or concerns of the victim should, when appropriate and consistent with criminal law and procedure, be brought to the attention of the court.
- 7. Measures may be taken when necessary to provide for the safety of victims and their families and to protect them from intimidation and retaliation.
- 8. Enhanced training should be made available to sensitize criminal justice personnel to the needs and concerns of victims and guidelines should be developed for this purpose.
- Victims should be informed of the availability of health and social services and other relevant assistance that they might continue to receive the necessary medical, psychological and social assistance through existing programs and services.
- 10. Victims should report the crime and cooperate with law enforcement authorities.
  Constitutional Amendment for Victims of Crime Kansas
  Victims' Bill of Rights Article
  15, Section 15 K.S.A.
  74-7333.

**Do not rely solely on VINE for your safety.**If you feel you are in danger, **call 911**.

VINE® is a registered trademark and product of Appriss Inc. ©2020. All rights reserved.



# Kansas VINE Service

Information & Notification for Offender Custody Status in County Jails



1-866-KS-4-VINE 1-866-574-8463 TTY: 1-866-847-1298

WWW.VINELINK.COM

A service provided through the collaboration of the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, the Office of the Attorney General and the Kansas Sheriffs' Association.

### KANSAS VINE SERVICE

# COUNTY JAIL CUSTODY INFORMATION

To access offender custody information:

- · Call 1-866-574-8463
- Vist www.vinelink.com
- Download the VINELink app
- TTY users, call 1-866-847-1298

#### **REGISTRATION**

If the offender is in custody, you can register to receive VINE notifications.

If you register a phone number, you must create a four-digit personal identification number (PIN) that you will need when you receive notifications. Make sure your PIN is easy to remember. Write it down and keep it in a safe place.

Email registrations do not require a PIN.





#### **NOTIFICATION**

Once registered, you will be notified about offender custody status in county jail changes such as release, transfer, or escape.

When VINE calls, listen to the message, then enter your PIN followed by the pound (#) key when asked. Entering the PIN lets VINE know that you received the call and will stop the service from calling you again.

No PIN is required to register for email notifications. You will receive one email when there is a change in custody status.

### **NOTES:**



## **VICTIM RESOURCES**

Kansas Domestic Violence Sexual Assault Crisis Hotline

1-888-END-ABUSE (1-888-363-2287)

Kansas Attorney General's Office Victim Services Division

1-800-828-9745

ag.ks.gov/victim-services

Kansas Attorney General's Office Division of Crime Victim Compensation

1-785-296-2359

ag.ks.gov/victim-services/victim-compensation

Kansas Department of Corrections Office of Victim Services

1-866-404-6732

Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence

1-785-232-9784 kcsdv.org

Parents of Murdered Children

Wichita Area

1-316-722-2907

Kansas City Area

1-816-850-4200

**Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)** 

MADD Kansas

www.madd.org

1-800-443-6233

National Human Trafficking Resource Center

1-888-373-7888

National Domestic Violence Hotline

1-800-799-SAFE (1-800-799-7233)

National Organization for Victim Assistance 1-800-TRY-NOVA (1-800-879-6682)

For other referrals and services, please call 211 - If available in your area