## ELDER AND DEPENDENT ADULT ABUSE PREVENTION COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES FOR OCTOBER 4, 2019

Meeting was called to order at 9:15 AM.

Members Present: Karrer, Burget, Carter, Greenlee, Khatib, McFatrich, Riebli, Ritthaler, Stevenson, Taylor, Tritsch, Williams, and Zickel.

Members Absent: Voss and Benson

Craig Paschang from the OAG (Office of Attorney General) LOGIC division introduced himself as legal counsel for the Council. As a public Agency that is supported by Government Funds, the Council is required to comply with KOMA/KORA requirements. Craig provided information regarding KOMA/KORA (Kansas Open Meetings Act/ Kansas Open Records Act) requirements and possible penalties for failure to follow KOMA/KORA. This discussion included rules related to outside communication of the members and rules related to email communication. Craig also discussed sub-committees and the rules that apply. Based on the number of members on the Council as a whole, sub-committees cannot be more than 7 members in size.

Chairman Karrer discussed multi disciplinary teams (MDTs) and their role in investigating abuse. Member Riebli, disucussed how the Johnson county's FAST team operated. It was discussed that one of the goals of the Council should be to determine how to bring MDTs to less populated areas of Kansas. Member Khatib discussed the role of the Department of Children and Families (DCF) in investigating abuse of elder and dependent adults. She compared the role of DCF with that of law enforcement and provided similarities and differences between the two.

Possible sub-committees of the Council were discussed. The Council agreed to create 3 subcommittees. These sub-committees were based on the regulations creating the Council.

Member Greenlee moved to create a sub-committee titled "MDT". Member Khatib seconded the motion. All members voted in the affirmative to create such a committee with the following members, chairman, and vice-chairman:

Kathy Greenlee Chrisy Khatib – Vice-Chairman Ruth Ritthaler Mitzi McFatrich Jacklyn Zickel Vanessa Riebli - Chairman Jackie Williams Member Rittenhaler made motion to create a second sub-committee entitled "Statutes and Regulations". Member Khatib seconded the motion. All members voted in favor of creating such sub-committee with the following members, chairman, and vice-chairman:

Steve Karrer – Chairman Kate Carter – Vice Chairman Ashley Goss Dawne Stevenson Chrisy Khatib Mitzi McFatrich Mary Tritsch

Member Riebli made motion to create a third sub-committee entitled "Education, Outreach, and Awareness". Member McFatrich seconded the motion. All members voted in favor of creating such sub-committee with the following members, chairman, and vice-chairman:

Kathy Taylor Mary Tritsch Niomi Burget - Chariman Jackie Williams Vanessa Riebli Kathy Greenlee Kate Carter – Vice Chairman

The Council then discussed potential next meeting dates. Member McFatrich volunteered to send out email for available dates and possible meeting sites. The meeting place, date, and time will then be posted on the Attorney General's website.

Member McFatrich moved to adjourn with Member Carter seconding motion. All members voted in the affirmative and meeting was adjourned at 11:30 A.M.