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Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act 
Frequently Asked Questions 

K.S.A 75-7c01 et. seq. 
Last updated July 1, 2021 

 
General Information  
 How old do you have to be to obtain a concealed carry license in Kansas? 

 Kansas law requires ALL persons to be at least 18 years of age to become licensed to carry a 
concealed firearm. See K.S.A. 75-7c04.  

 There are no exceptions to the age requirement for obtaining a Kansas concealed carry handgun 
license (CCHL). 
 

 How much does it cost to apply for a Kansas CCHL? 
 The application fee is $132.50. 

 A person who applies for a Kansas CCHL must submit a money order, personal check, or cashier’s 
check in the amount of $32.50 payable to the sheriff’s office in the county where the applicant 
resides. The applicant must submit a second money order, personal check, or cashier’s check in the 
amount of $100.00 payable to the “Office of the Attorney General (OAG)” ($32.50 + $100.00 = 
$132.50 application fee).  

 If the application is submitted between July 1, 2021, and June 30, 2022, the application fee to the 
OAG will be $79.50 ($32.50 + $79.50 = $112.00 application fee).  

 Additional application and licensure costs may include, but not be limited to: 
o The 8-hour training course costs an applicant approximately $100 – but that price will vary by 

instructor and is set at the instructor’s discretion. (See Training below) 
o The Department of Revenue (KDOR) charges a fee of approximately $16 for issuance of the 

physical CCHL. 
 

 How long is a Kansas CCHL valid? 
 Four (4) years from the date of approval unless surrendered, suspended, or revoked. 

 

 What does the actual CCHL look like? 
 Per K.S.A. 75-7c03, a Kansas CCHL is issued as a separate license card. The CCHL appears similar 

to a Kansas driver’s license or identification card (DL/ID), but has “Concealed Carry License” 
clearly printed at the top with an expiration date that may not match the DL/ID.  

 Licenses for those aged 18-20 at the time of application will say “Provisional Concealed Carry 
License” until the license is renewed. K.S.A. 75-7c08. 
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 Where is the actual CCHL obtained? 
 Selected KDOR driver’s license stations. 

 Approved applicants will receive a “license approval notice” from the OAG. This notice must be 
taken to a participating KDOR station in order to be photographed for the CCHL card. The KDOR 
station will charge a fee to generate the CCHL. 

 A paper version of the CCHL is issued by KDOR, just like obtaining a Kansas DL/ID. The physical 
CCHL card will then be mailed to the licensee within 45 days. 

NOTE: If the physical card has not arrived by mail within 45 days of receiving the temporary 
paper version, the licensee should contact KDOR at (785) 296-3963 to ask if the physical card 
was mistakenly returned. Undeliverable CCHL are NOT returned to the OAG. 

 

 What if I move to a new address or change my name? 
 You must notify the OAG, through the Concealed Carry Licensing Unit (“CCLU”) within 30 days of 

changing your name or address. See K.S.A. 75-7c06. Updating your DL/ID with KDOR does not 
also change your address or name with the OAG. 

 All name or address changes must be submitted in writing. This can be done online 
(https://ag.ks.gov/licensing/concealed-carry/change-of-name-or-address-notification), by email 
(ksagcc@ag.ks.gov) or by mailing a letter to the CCLU.  Please include your full name, new address, 
old address, and DL/ID number in the email or letter. Failure to notify the CCLU of an address 
change in a timely manner can result in a fine of up to $100 or suspension of the CCHL for up to 
6 months. See K.S.A. 75-7c06(e). 

 Once the information is received and updated, the CCLU will mail an approval notice to re-issue 
the CCHL. The notice must then be taken to a participating KDOR station to obtain the re-issued 
CCHL card. The KDOR station will charge a fee to generate a new CCHL card. 

 If moving outside of Kansas, you must notify the CCLU in advance so that a 90-day extension letter 
can be provided. This also ensures that no penalty fees will be assessed if you later return to 
Kansas without having notified the CCLU of that move to another state.  

 If the CCLU receives notice from another entity that a licensee has moved out of state without 
prior notification, their CCHL will be revoked.  
 

 What if my concealed carry license is lost or stolen? 
 You must notify the CCLU in writing within 30 days of the loss or theft of a CCHL. This must include 

a notarized statement of the circumstances of the loss and a $15.00 fee in the form of a cashier’s 
check, personal check, or money order payable to the “Office of Attorney General.”  

 Once notified, the CCLU will mail an approval notice to re-issue the CCHL. The notice must then be 
taken to a participating KDOR station to obtain the re-issued CCHL. The KDOR station will charge a 
fee to generate a new CCHL card. 

 

 If I need to withdraw my application for any reason, can my application fee be refunded? 
 No. By law, all fees are non-refundable. See K.S.A. 75-7c05. 

 

Training Course  
 Is there any training required to receive a CCHL? 

 Yes. All CCHL applicants must successfully complete training approved by the OAG before they 
may obtain a Kansas CCHL. See K.S.A. 75-7c04(b) & (c).  

 The OAG may accept prior handgun training in order to meet the training requirement. Options 
include: 

https://ag.ks.gov/licensing/concealed-carry/change-of-name-or-address-notification
mailto:ksagcc@ag.ks.gov
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o Handgun training course completed in a jurisdiction other than Kansas which is determined 
to be “equal to or greater than” the training required by Kansas law (see note below). 

o Kansas recognizes prior handgun training for a retired law enforcement officer (LEO) if retired 
less than 8 years. See K.S.A. 75-7c05. If a current service LEO desires a Kansas CCHL, the LEO’s 
prior handgun training can be counted as a substitute for the Kansas 8-hour training course. 

o Military training may be accepted for military police officers. Standard military training for 
those other than military police does not meet the Kansas training requirements.  

o Kansas recognizes the handgun training taken by current Department of Corrections officers, 
parole officers or Federal Bureau of Prisons officers if completed within the past 12 months. 
See K.S.A. 75-7c05. 

NOTE: Kansas law states prior handgun training that is “equal to or greater than” that of 
Kansas must include, “at a minimum, the applicant to: (i) Receive instruction on the laws of self-
defense; and (ii) demonstrate training and competency in the safe handling, storage and actual 
firing of handguns.” K.S.A. 75-7c04(c)(2)(A). Proof of training must be submitted with the 
application, such as a certificate or course syllabus which outlines that the required elements 
were covered. Once submitted, the OAG’s CCLU will review prior handgun training courses to 
determine their compliance. Online training will not be accepted. 

 

 Where in Kansas can the required 8-hour training course be taken? 
 The training course may be taken from any OAG-certified trainer in any county. 
 A directory of certified instructors (listed by county) is posted on the OAG’s website: 

(http://ag.ks.gov/docs/documents/certified-instructor-directory.pdf). 
 

 I took an online concealed carry training course. Will that training course by honored by Kansas? 
 No. Kansas CCHL regulations do not allow online training to be accepted – even if that training 

allowed the person to obtain a non-Kansas CCHL.  
 

 How much does the training class cost? 
 Because the CCHL training courses are taught by private individuals, the cost varies from trainer 

to trainer. 
 

 How is the course completion documented? 
 Once a person has completed the required class, the instructor will sign a form (or affidavit) 

certifying that the person has completed the Kansas CCHL course. 
 You must submit a copy of the completion form with the application to the sheriff’s office. 

 

 Must the required training class be completed before an application is submitted? 
 Yes. Proof of completing either the 8-hour Kansas CCHL training course, or handgun training from 

another jurisdiction, must be submitted with the application to the sheriff’s office. 
 

 I applied for a Kansas CCHL previously, but withdrew my application because we were moving to another 
state. We moved back to Kansas. Can I use my prior Kansas training to submit another application? 

 Yes. There is no expiration for an approved training course or requirement for retraining. 
 

  

http://ag.ks.gov/docs/documents/certified-instructor-directory.pdf


4  

Application Process  
 Where is the application form located? 

 The application is available on the OAG’s website at: http://ag.ks.gov/docs/forms/concealed-
carry-application.pdf.  

 A paper copy of the application is available at the sheriff’s office in your county of residence. 
 

 Where do I submit my CCHL application? 
 All applicants for a Kansas CCHL are required by law to apply through the sheriff’s office in the 

county where they reside. There are no exceptions. 
 Kansas residents who are active duty military (ADM) but stationed outside of Kansas must still 

forward their completed CCHL application through the sheriff of the Kansas county where their 
home of record is located (see Note below). 
 

 Do I have to be a Kansas resident to obtain a Kansas CCHL? 
 Yes. Kansas does not issue CCHL to non-residents, with two exceptions: 

o Active duty military (ADM) who are stationed in Kansas but whose state of legal residence 
or home of record is in a state other than Kansas. 

o A “dependent” of an ADM stationed in Kansas whose state of legal residence is other than 
Kansas. A “dependent” for purposes of this exception is someone who resides with the ADM 
and financially depends upon that ADM in whole or substantial part. 

  
NOTE: ADM who are Kansas residents and stationed at a U.S. military installation outside of 
Kansas may have their fingerprints taken by proper military personnel and then mail their 
completed Kansas CCHL application to the Sheriff of the Kansas county where they reside. See 
K.S.A. 75-7c05(i). The CCLU recommends that any mailing be done so that the submission can 
be tracked and that a highlighted copy of K.S.A. 75-7c05(i) be attached to the top of the 
application to remind the Sheriff’s staff of availability of this application process. If the 
application is ultimately approved, this allowance may not relieve the ADM from having to 
physically return to Kansas in order to have the CCHL issued by an approved KDOR station. 

 

 How long does the OAG take to process an application? When can I expect to receive an approval notice? 

 The OAG is required by statute to process an application and notify the applicant within 90 days of 
receiving a complete application. Most initial applications are processed within 60-90 days. 

 Unless an applicant receives a written request for additional information, the applicant should not 
expect to hear from the CCLU for at least 60 days.  

 

Criminal History/Other Background Information  
 Can I still apply if I have a criminal history? 

 Yes, but you “shall” be denied if you have certain felony convictions or juvenile adjudications or are 
otherwise prohibited from “shipping, transporting, possessing or receiving a firearm” under State or 
Federal law. See K.S.A. 75-7c04(a). If you do not truthfully disclose your criminal history on your 
application, you could face felony criminal charges for perjury. See K.S.A. 75-7c09. 

 Federal law prohibits individuals from shipping, transporting, possessing or receiving firearms 
and/or ammunition if the individual has been convicted of a “crime punishable by a term of 
imprisonment for more than 12 months” – generally a felony but it could include some 
misdemeanor offenses from other jurisdictions. 

 Federal law will look to the law of the jurisdiction where the offense was prosecuted to 
determine if there is a qualifying “conviction” for that prohibition. If the conviction happened in 
Kansas state court, Kansas law will control the analysis. If the conviction occurred in another 

http://ag.ks.gov/docs/forms/concealed-carry-application.pdf
http://ag.ks.gov/docs/forms/concealed-carry-application.pdf
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state court, that state law will control the analysis. If the conviction happened in a federal court, 
then federal law will control the analysis. 

 Kansas law prohibits individuals from possessing firearms for either 3 months, 3 years, 8 years, or 
permanently, depending on the felony conviction/adjudication and whether a firearm was used in 
the commission of the crime. See K.S.A. 21-6304. 
  

NOTE: Applicants should also be aware that even if the crime occurred in another jurisdiction, 
Kansas law will also be considered for purposes of determining whether the applicant’s 
criminal history meets Kansas firearm possession standards. In other words, convicted felons 
from another state will have to satisfy 2 levels of “state” legal compliance (convicting 
jurisdiction and K.S.A. 21-6304) before being approved. 

 
 There are also Kansas firearm prohibitions under K.S.A. 21-6301 that are similar to some of the 

federal prohibitions of 18 USC 922(g) noted below. 
 Federal law prohibits individuals with a prior conviction for a “misdemeanor crime of domestic 

violence” (MCDV) from shipping, transporting, possessing or receiving firearms and ammunition. 
18 U.S.C. 922(g)(9). 
o Under federal law, if a person is convicted of any misdemeanor crime for using physical 

force (or attempted physical force) against another person with whom they have a 
qualifying domestic relationship, then that conviction can qualify as a MCDV. See 18 USC 
921(a)(33) for the definition of “MCDV”. 

o An MCDV conviction may result in a permanent loss of firearms rights. This applies for any 
misdemeanor conviction that involves the use or attempted use of physical force against a 
person with a qualifying domestic relationship (i.e., battery, assaults from some 
jurisdictions, disorderly conduct) even if the statute or ordinance does not contain the word 
“domestic” or list domestic relationships.  

o An individual with any prior misdemeanor conviction that is substantially similar to those 
described above (no matter how long ago and no matter what the ultimate charge or 
conviction was) should contact a private attorney who is well versed in federal firearms 
laws to assist you in determining if you are prohibited from possessing firearms. 

 Federal law, 18 USC 922(g) & (n) prohibits firearm possession for individuals with the following 
circumstances: 
o Individuals who are “under indictment” (have a pending criminal charge or are still 

subject to the terms of a diversion agreement) for a “crime punishable by 
imprisonment for a term exceeding one year” 

o Individuals who are fugitives from justice  
o Individuals with qualifying protection orders against them from intimate partners 
o Individuals who are addicted to, or unlawful users of, controlled substances 

• This includes, but may not be limited to: individuals who have been convicted of a drug 
offense within the past year; individuals who were arrested for a controlled substance/drug 
offense within the past year and have had another arrest within the past 5 years; positive 
drug tests within the past year; admitted drug use within the past year; or possession of 
paraphernalia that tests positive for a controlled substance. See 27 C.F.R. 478.11 

o Individuals who have been adjudicated by a lawful authority as a mental defective or have been 

committed to a mental institution 
o Individuals who have been dishonorably discharged from the US armed forces (or “dismissed” as 

an officer) 
o Individuals who renounce their US citizenship 
o Individuals who are: (a) unlawfully in the United States; (b) not a US citizen; (c) not a 

permanent resident alien; or (d) not a qualifying nonimmigrant alien 
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NOTE: K.S.A. 75-7c04 requires Kansas residency as a CCHL qualification. Most nonimmigrant 
aliens are only in the United States for a temporary basis (i.e., work or school) and have 
retained their country of origin. Nonimmigrant aliens, therefore, may not meet the state 
residency requirements of K.S.A. 75-7c04. 

 

 I have an expunged criminal history. Do I have to disclose my expunged offenses on my CCHL 
application? 

 Starting July 1st, 2021, you will no longer be required to disclose expunged offenses on a Kansas 
CCHL application.  

 

 Can I just call and ask the OAG if I am eligible for a CCHL? 
 No. An individual with questions about how their criminal history may affect their ability to 

possess firearms or qualify for a CCHL under the statutes listed in K.S.A. 75-7c04 should consult a 
private attorney for legal advice.  

 The OAG/CCLU cannot give private, individual legal advice to a member of the general public. 
 

Recognition of CCHL from Other Jurisdictions  
 Does Kansas recognize a CCHL from other states? 

 Yes. Beginning July 1, 2021, a valid license or permit to carry a concealed firearm issued by 
another jurisdiction shall be recognized in this state, but only while the holder is not a resident of 
Kansas. See K.S.A. 75-7c03. 
 

 If I am a Kansas resident and have a valid CCHL from another jurisdiction, can I carry a concealed 
handgun in Kansas? 

 It depends on the age of the license holder. As of July 1st, 2021, a CCHL issued by another 
jurisdiction will not be recognized if the holder is a Kansas resident.  

 If the person is 21 or older and lawful to possess firearms, they may carry concealed 
firearms/handguns in Kansas with or without a CCHL.  

 If the person is age 18-20 and a Kansas resident, they must obtain a Kansas CCHL in order to carry 
concealed firearms/handguns.  
 

 Can I “transfer” my non-Kansas CCHL into a Kansas CCHL? 
 No. There is no provision to allow a direct transfer of a CCHL from another jurisdiction into a 

Kansas CCHL. A person must apply for a Kansas CCHL as described in K.S.A. 75-7c05. 
 The training used to obtain the non-Kansas CCHL may be accepted if it meets the Kansas CCHL 

criteria (as described above), but all other requirements of the initial Kansas CCHL application 
process must be met. 

 

Where Licensees May or May Not Be Able to Carry  
 Will a Kansas CCHL allow me to carry a concealed handgun anywhere in the State of Kansas? 

 No. Certain buildings have the ability to limit or prohibit concealed carry, and different rules 
apply to public and private buildings. See K.S.A. 75-7c10 and 75-7c20. 

 Any person carrying a concealed firearm should know the legal restrictions on all locations 
where firearms are or can be prohibited. 

 

 Will a Kansas CCHL allow me to carry a concealed handgun anywhere outside the State of Kansas? 
 No. There are currently 39 states that have acknowledged they recognize the Kansas CCHL. This 

list is posted online at: ag.ks.gov/licensing/concealed-carry/out-of-state-license-recognition.  

https://ag.ks.gov/licensing/concealed-carry/out-of-state-license-recognition


7  

 It is always the licensee’s responsibility to know where they are carrying and the laws of that 
jurisdiction, to make sure possession of a firearm and/or their method of carrying is lawful. 

 

 If I obtain a Kansas CCHL, will I be required to have my CCHL with me at all times when carrying a 
concealed handgun? 

 No, but you should. Licensees should have their CCHL when transporting firearms in a motor vehicle, 
and incase a scenario arises where law enforcement needs to determine your lawful ability to carry. 
 

 If I am stopped by a law enforcement officer while carrying concealed, do I have to volunteer to the 
officer that I have a CCHL and/or handgun? 

 No, but you should strongly consider doing so.  
 Some other states require immediate disclosure, and failure to do so is a crime.  

 

Carrying into Buildings  
 Are private businesses allowed to restrict concealed carry of handguns into offices or buildings? 

 Yes, if the business has properly posted signage at the entrances.  
 

 If I have a Kansas CCHL and I enter a business that is not posted as prohibiting concealed carry, do I 
have to leave if the owner or an employee sees that I am carrying and asks me to leave? 

 Yes, especially for private businesses. Although you would not technically be violating the 
concealed carry law just by carrying into a non-posted building, if you are asked to leave by the 
owner or an employee and refuse to do so, you could be cited for criminal trespass.  
 

 Are public (state or municipal) businesses or agencies allowed to restrict concealed carry of handguns 
into offices or buildings? 

 Yes, concealed carry is prohibited if adequate security measures (metal detection equipment 
and armed security personnel) and signage are in place at the building’s public entrances.  

 Corrections facilities, jail facilities, and law enforcement agencies may prohibit the carrying of a 
handgun or other firearm concealed or unconcealed by any person into any secure area of a 
building located on such premises. K.S.A. 75-7c20(g). 

 Judicial districts may prohibit carrying of a concealed handgun by any person into courtrooms 
within the district if adequate security measures and signage are in place. K.S.A. 75-7c20(h). 

 State or municipal-owned medical care facilities, adult care homes, and mental health centers 
may prohibit concealed or unconcealed carry without the requirement for adequate security 
measures.  
 

 Can I carry on state or federally owned land? 
 On state or municipal owned public lands, the state and municipalities are not allowed to restrict 

licensed concealed carry. However, buildings on those lands can be restricted as described 
above.  

 On federal land or in federal facilities, federal law controls. If no firearms are allowed on those 
lands or in those facilities, then neither licensed nor unlicensed concealed or open carry will be 
allowed. If you are crossing or visiting a federally owned land or entering a federal facility, find 
out from proper federal authorities if firearms or concealed carry will be allowed there.  

 It is always the licensee’s responsibility to know where they are carrying and the laws of that 
jurisdiction to make sure possession of a firearm or their method of carrying is lawful. 
 

 Can I carry a concealed handgun into the State Capitol building in Topeka? 
 Yes, carrying of concealed handguns is allowed if the person is at least 21 years of age and lawful 

to be in possession of the handgun – whether the person has a CCHL or not. Those age 18-20 
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must have a valid CCHL to carry concealed. 
 Open carry of a handgun is not allowed in the State Capitol building. 

 

Schools  
 Can I carry concealed in a K-12 school district building or on the school’s grounds if I have a Kansas 

CCHL?  

 If you are traveling through a Kansas school zone and you have a Kansas CCHL, you are 
exempt from the federal Gun Free School Zone Act prohibition. Kansas law also allows persons 
with a valid concealed handgun license issued by another jurisdiction to travel through a 
school zone. 

 Unlicensed concealed carry is not allowed in a school zone (within 1000 feet of a K-12 school).  
 K-12 school buildings may prohibit concealed carry if they post signage at the building’s public 

entrances. K-12 school district buildings are not required to have adequate security measures 
in place (metal detection equipment and armed security personnel) in order to restrict 
concealed carry.  

 Can I carry concealed in university or community college buildings or on the school’s grounds? 
 It depends.  

o Kansas universities, colleges, or community colleges may restrict concealed carry if adequate 
security measures and signage are in place at the public entrances of campus buildings. 

o If adequate security measures (metal detection equipment and armed security personnel) 
and signage are not in place, a person who is otherwise lawful may carry concealed.  

o Concealed carry is legal on the school’s grounds. Signage prohibiting carry on the school’s 
grounds is improper, but not “illegal.” 

 

Employer/Employee  
 Can an employer restrict employees from the lawful carrying of concealed handguns? 

 It depends on whether the employer is private or public, and it depends where the employee is 
physically working. 
o Private employers may prohibit employees from carrying concealed while on the premises of 

the employer’s business or while otherwise engaged in the duties of employment. Private 
employers may not prohibit an employee from storing their handgun in the licensee’s private 
vehicle even if parked on the employer’s premises. K.S.A. 75-7c10(b). 

o Public (state or municipal) employers may restrict concealed carry by employees if adequate 
security measures and signage are in place at the employer’s public entrances.  K.S.A. 75-
7c20.  

o Public employers may not restrict an employee, who is legally qualified, from carrying a 
concealed handgun while engaged in the duties of employment outside of the employer’s 
place of business, including while in a vehicle. K.S.A. 75-7c10(e). 
 

 Can my public employer require me to disclose if I have a CCHL? 
 It depends on whether the employer is state or municipal. 

o Municipal employers are prohibited from requiring disclosure of a CCHL and are prohibited 
from creating or maintaining a record of their employees who have a CCHL. K.S.A. 75-7c23.  

o State employers are not prohibited from requiring disclosure of CCHL status. 
 

Renewal  
 How do I renew my CCHL?  

 Renewal applications (yellow) are mailed to licensees 3-4 months before their CCHL’s expiration 
date. If you did not receive the renewal form, it may be because you moved and did not notify 
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the CCLU of your new address.  
 Please contact the CCLU if you are within 2 months of expiration and have not received a renewal 

application. 
 

 Can I renew early? 
 Renewal is not allowed more than 6 months before the CCHL expiration date. 

 

 Can I renew online or get a renewal application online? 
 No. Online or electronic renewal is not available. Renewal applications are not posted online to 

keep the flow of renewal applications reasonably controlled and within the proper timeframe. 
 For more information on the renewal process, please visit: 

http://ag.ks.gov/licensing/concealed-carry/license-renewal-information. 

The CCLU advises each licensee to submit a complete renewal application to the CCLU as soon 
as possible to order to avoid any lapses in the CCHL and to avoid any extra fines or late fees. 

 

Carrying Under the Influence: K.S.A. 21-6332  
 Can I carry a firearm under the influence of alcohol or drugs? 

 No. Having a loaded firearm on your person or within your immediate access while under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs is a class A misdemeanor offense (up to one year in jail and/or up to 
$2500 in fines).  

 Refusal to submit to drug/alcohol testing can result in a civil penalty of up to $1,000. 
 If convicted, the person's CCHL shall be revoked for a minimum of one year for a first offense and 

three years for a second or subsequent offense.  
 

Unlicensed Concealed Carry  
 Do I need a CCHL to carry concealed in Kansas? What if I am not a Kansas resident? 

 It depends. It is legal for most people (resident or non-resident) to carry concealed firearms in 
Kansas without a CCHL. There are a few important exceptions and qualifications to note: 
o Unlicensed concealed carry is allowed for both Kansas residents and non-Kansas residents who 

are lawful to be in possession of firearms and ammunition. 
o Unlicensed concealed carry of firearms in Kansas only applies to those who are 21 years of age 

or older. Those age 18-20 must have a valid CCHL to carry concealed in Kansas. 
 A CCHL is still required to carry concealed in some locations within Kansas. For example, unlicensed 

concealed carry is not allowed in a school zone (within 1000 feet of a K-12 school). 

 As a Kansas resident, I have the right to carry a concealed handgun without a license. Doesn’t that right go 
with me if I travel to another state? 

 No. Unlicensed concealed carry of handguns/firearms is not allowed in most other states, even those 
that currently recognize the Kansas CCHL by reciprocity. A CCHL will still be required to carry in most 
other states. 

 It is each individual’s responsibility to be sure that they are lawful to carry firearms in each state 
they are traveling to or through. 

Note: If you are not sure whether you may lawfully possess a firearm or whether you qualify 
for a CCHL, please consult with a private attorney. The OAG cannot provide private, 
individual legal advice. 

 

http://ag.ks.gov/licensing/concealed-carry/license-renewal-information
http://ag.ks.gov/licensing/concealed-carry/license-renewal-information

